Darts Betting Guide


While darts is often disparagingly dubbed a “pub game”, you only need to throw a few arrows yourself to gain an appreciation of the skill – and practice hours – required to get to the pinnacle of this popular sport.

With darts tournaments run by both the British Darts Organization (BDO) and the Professional Darts Corporation (PDC) increasing in popularity with spectators and gamblers alike, there are plenty of options when it comes to betting on – and winning money from – the sport. Read on for our guide to the types of bets you can place and some strategies to help you win when betting on darts, so you can hit the bullseye with your wagers.

How To Bet On Darts

With more darts events than ever the bookies have introduced a good number of darts betting markets in recent years, from tournament betting to individual matches, there are many wagering options available.

Darts Bets

  • Winner – There are no draws in darts matches making backing the winner as simple as it gets.
  • Correct score – With the winner of a darts match being the first player to win a specified number of sets, the correct score betting market allows you to bet on the final score in sets of that match.
  • Handicap betting – This involves backing the match winner, but with a plus or minus handicap of a number of sets or legs. So a favourite who is short odds in the outright match winner market could be worth backing with a -1 set handicap, for instance.
  • Over/under – Simply backing whether a match will contain greater or fewer than the specified number of sets or legs, usually stated in half sets/legs to avoid a tie.
  • Tournament outrights – as well as backing the outright winner of a particular tournament you also have the option to bet on players who you think will make the final.
  • 170 checkout – In this bet you pick the player (or players) you think will achieve the maximum checkout of 170 in a given tournament.
  • Highest three-dart average – This is a bet on which player will have the highest threedart average over the course of a tournament.

Darts Betting Rules

Whilst darts is not the most physical of sports, anything can happen on the oche, so it’s worth noting a couple of betting rules lest you get caught out.

If for any reason (injury seems unlikely, but you never know!) a player is unable to complete a match, bets on that match will be voided. If a match is postponed but replayed within a certain amount of time (12 hours for some bookies) bets may stand, but check with the individual bookie to be sure.

Darts Betting Strategy

In recent years in the PDC side of the sport one of the most successful strategies has simply been to back Phil “The Power” Taylor for just about everything. But nowadays other players are coming to the fore and – particularly in the BDO tournaments – the winners are rarely dominant for long periods of time.

Darts can be a particularly good sport to indulge in a spot of in-play betting as even when a player goes into a big lead and looks to be throwing well there is a tendency for matches to swing the other way. When bookies shorten the odds on the player in the ascendency based on the score but not the balance of play, that is when to back the underdog. For instance if the losing player has had a number of unlucky bounceouts, or is looking the calmer of the two and has a reputation for dealing with pressure better).

Overall doing your research on the current form of players coming into a tournament will usually pay dividends. A former star who is fading up against a fearless rookie could be an opportunity to back the newcomer at big odds for the match and for the tournament outright, especially in the BDO code.

Latest Darts Tips

Event Date Tip
PDC World Championship 13 Dec 2018 Gary Anderson @ 7/2
PDC World Matchplay 21 Jul 2018 Gary Anderson @ 7/1
BDO World Darts Championship 06 Jan 2018 -

Contact Us

Copyright © BettingSites.co 2018 | 18+ BeGambleAware


Disclaimer: Please note that the legality of betting online varies between countries and it is your responsibility to verify that your actions are legal in the country you reside. All offers subject to terms and conditions. Please gamble responsibly - if you feel you may have a problem and need advice please visit Gamble Aware (UK) or Gamblers Anonymous.